Thanksgiving Eats for the Health Conscious

What’s the best thing about Thanksgiving you ask? Eating your weight in turkey, mashed potatoes, and desserts being thankful for everything we have in our lives, right? Well….I guess there is some pretty good food snuck in between all our good deeds and thanking-ness 😉 So let’s get to it, what the plan? What’s cooking? And more importantly, what am I eating?!

About 3 years ago I decided to go vegetarian for health reasons. I gave up all meat, cold turkey (pun intended). I kept this up for about 2 years, but last year I brought seafood back into my diet. I’m still very conscious of how much seafood I eat a week so that I don’t over-do it, but it’s definitely made my life easier. Last September 2011, I got married and had an amazing honeymoon in Bora Bora, Tahiti. It was the most amazing place EVER, but the food was lacking, to say the least. Since they have a lot of French influence in Tahiti, the cheese, desserts, and wine were amazing…but there weren’t very many options for vegetarians besides the basic garden salad. I was so hungry and frustrated that I tried fish one night and noticed that it did not upset my stomach, so I just went for it!

See, the reason I decided to go vegetarian in the first place was because I have always suffered from stomach issues (read- being way too stopped up all the time)…TMI? You’re welcome.

But let’s be real, many women suffer from this problem and I did not want to be a prisoner to taking pills and powders the rest of my life. So here I am 3 years later, lighter, leaner, healthier, and feeling much better on the inside!

So back to Thanksgiving- If you have any dietary restrictions, you know that the holidays are always the hardest time of year to plan what to eat. Whether it’s company parties, potlucks, or family gatherings…the choices are usually limited. I don’t know about you, but I’m a little freaked out by the whole Tofurky deal…and fake meat products in general. I try to stick to real foods most of the time.

Anyone else weirded out by this??

My family cooks up a storm for Thanksgiving, but it’s pretty traditional foods, i.e. turkey, stuffing, gravy, etc. Not the best choices for me…so what am I eating?

Thanksgiving Steph Stays Slim Style

Main Course: Stuffed Mushrooms with Cornbread Stuffing

Sides: Mashed Cauliflower (instead of potatoes because the stuffing in the mushrooms is already a heavy carb), Vegetarian Mushroom Gravy, Fresh Green Beans with Almonds, Homemade Cranberry Sauce (courtesy of a family friend), and rolls.

Dessert: Pumpkin Oatmeal Cookies, Apple Pie Bites

(I’ll post these on the ‘recipe’s page’ this evening – There won’t be many pics until I make them for Thanksgiving, but it’ll give you an idea of what I’m cooking)

This is definitely a rich meal that I’ll be able to enjoy with my family, it still has the commonalities of a traditional Thanksgiving dinner, but saves lots of calories, fat, sodium, and sugar. Yum!! That’s a win in my book!!

What are some of your health conscious Thankgiving meals?

What Say You?!

