I’m back!! and Meal Planning Monday

Hi everyone (or anyone that’s reading my new little blog, that is)! So I just started this blog a couple of weeks to go, and I mentioned that I am still getting the hang of this whole blogging deal, long story short…I haven’t written a post in the past week because I was too busy enjoying my week off from work and enjoying the free time.   I’ll say it again, blogging is a fun way to talk about all of the things I do, think, emjoy, etc…but it definitely takes some thought and time to write a good post.  I ‘m still getting into the hang of taking pictures and not feeling like a total dork in front of other people.  Anyone else have that feeling?  Or are you just over it already?? Something else that still feels weird about having a blog?  The fact that i have a blog!  basically, I haven’t told anyone 😮 Only my husband knows!!  Why you ask?  I’m not sure.  Maybe because I’m embarrassed of what they’ll think because for the most part my family isn’t really tech savvy.  I have a feeling they’ll think it’s dumb, so I’d rather just do this on my own for a while.  This makes things much harder because I don’t have friends and family to rely on helping me grow readership…so please help me!  Anywho…  

Mini Morning Workout: My new goal for the next month or so (hopefully longer) is to incorporate a mini morning workout everyday.  I’ll continue my normal afternoon workouts/runs. etc.  but adding in this little 15-20 minute routine helps me ward off all the holiday goodies that get me off track with being healthy.   This week I’m using a workout I saw on Pinterest.  Give it a try! It’s short and sweet but def got my heart racing!

Meal Planning Monday:  Like a ton of other people out there…I’m a meal plannin junkie!  Unlike other people out there…I’m not so good about planning it all out on Sunday.   I try hard to get everything all set up on Sunday, but what usually happens is that I have a general idea of what I’m doing on Sunday and go grocery shopping for our basic supplies.  Then I really sit down and get it written out on Monday and buy any last minute things I missed after work.  Seems like a waste of time?  Well, in some ways it is, but that’s just the reality of my Sundays.  We’re usually busy doing things, visiting family, and just being out and about.  I’d much rather spend time with my husband, family, and friends than be sitting at home meal planning.  In short- I try to meal plan on Sunday, but usually get it done on Monday.  Now on to “Meal Planning Monday” (<– that was in my Oprah Voice thank.you.very.much.)!

Monday: B- Green Smoothie, L- Tune Salad Pita and Yogurt, PW- Chocolate MIlk, D- Grilled Veggie Salad, S- Cottage Cheese

Tuesday: B- Green Smoothie, L- Veggie Sandwich and Yogurt, PW- Chocolate MIlk, D- Tilapia Salad, S- Cottage Cheese

Wednesday: B- Oatmeal, L- Roasted Potatoes and Veggies andYogurt , PW- Chocolate MIlk, D- Shrimp Avocado Salad, S- Cottage Cheese

Thursday: B- Green Smoothie, L- Veggie Wrap and Yogurt, D- Leftovers or something at the airport (we’re flying out that evening to San Jose for a wedding), S- Luna Bar

Friday: Out of Town- I’ll do my best and post some of the healthy swaps I was able to make 🙂

I generally will not post a meal plan for the weekends unless I have something I know I’m making.  Meal plans on weekends just don’t really work for me because we uually have something going on or go out to eat.  I don’t splurge the whole weekend, but there are def some decadent choices sprinkled in here and there!

Today’s Green Smoothie: 1 handful of spinach (I ran out), 1/2 banana, 1/2 cup skim milk, 1/2 cup water, 1 Tbl. peanut butter, 1 scoop of Jillian Michaels chocolate protein powder, a few ice cubes.  Blend it all up and enjoy!

Do you meal plan?  How?
Any yummy and healthy smoothie options?
If you blog, what are some tips you have for newbies?
4 thoughts on “I’m back!! and Meal Planning Monday

  1. Pingback: Here Come’s The Bride…and Meal Planning Monday | Steph Stays Slim

  2. Pingback: What WE Ate Wednesday #1 – Inaugural Edition | Steph Stays Slim

  3. Pingback: The Poor (Wo)man’s Garmin | Steph Stays Slim

  4. Pingback: Shopping, Shopping, Shopping…and Running! | Steph Stays Slim

What Say You?!

