What WE Ate Wednesday #1 – Inaugural Edition

So I’m getting on this whole “What I Ate Wednesday” train.  

I believe this was started by the super cute Jenn over at peasandcrayons

I’m excited about joining in on the WIAW revolution mostly because I really like reading, and seeing what other people eat in a normal day.  This is why I like planning, posting, and reading about other people’s meal planning for the week.  It gives me some ideas for when I’m in a rut.  So my twist on it is “What WE Ate Wednesday” to show what both my husband and I eat in a normal day.  Why “WE”? Because I always get the same question over and over again from friends and family when they realize that I’m a vegetarian (actually pescetarian)…Is your husband a vegetarian? NO. How do you do it? EASY- I’M SUPERWOMAN You make separate meals?!  PRETTY MUCH Then I get weird looks from them…I’m thinking it’s the superwoman comment, but whatever.

Truth is, my husband and I eat pretty basic, easy, healthy meals.  I actually really like cooking, even foods I can’t eat!  But I save my culinary expertise – I use this phrase lightly- for special dinners or holidays.  We both work all day, work out regularly, and still want to enjoy some down time with each other in the process of our day.  So I revert to tried and true meals that work well with our lifestyle.  So that’s that!

Logistically it looks like this: I sometimes start his breakfast if I have time in the morning (if I don’t have time then he’s on his own), I’ll make our lunches the night before, and I make our dinners when I get back from my workout.   I pre-make things when I can, i.e. a few chicken breasts for him, wash and chop fruits and veggies, make batches of brown rice and quinoa for the week and freezer.  Easy Peasy.

So here it is: “What WE Ate Wednesday” Inaugural Edition 

(this is actually Tuesday’s eats…but you’re smart, you get it!)

Husband

Breakfast

1 full egg with 1/2 cup of egg whites, a bit of cheese, ketchup (more was added after…he’s outta control) and a slice of wheat toast

Lunch

(Unpictured – because I’m lame and forgot to take a pic)

He had a whole wheat pita with sliced turkey, veggies, and carrot sticks.  Then a Clif Bar after work before going to his coaching gig – he’s a Varsity Soccer coach too!

Dinner

Foil Pouch Chicken Breast (recipe at the end of the post), Sautéed veggies (green beans, cabbage, asparagus, mushrooms, and onions) and quinoa on the side.

There may have been a few snacks sprinkled in throughout the day…but hey, I don’t know everything about my husband!

Wife

Breakfast

Classic Green Smoothie

I’m going to try it without milk tomorrow and see how it tastes – I want to minimize some of the grams of sugar from the overall smoothie.

Lunch

1/2 veggie sandwich with tomatoes, spring mix, avocado and garlic goat cheese spread, carrots with my homemade black bean dip (so good! recipe coming soon), and Greek yogurt with strawberries.

Post Workout

Horizon Chocolate Milk

Dinner

Tilapia Salad – Lettuce blend with parmesan crusted tilapia, sautéed veggies, and avocado.  So good, I inhaled it! The tilapia actually looks more indulgent than it is…I checked out the stats, and it’s baked too.

For the dressing:  I love creamy dressings…I know, creamy dressings are the devil, blah blah blah…but I can’t give them up.  I do try to make them a bit healthier though.  For this salad I mixed a Greek vinaigrette with a Tbl. of plain Greek yogurt and couple drops of water, whisked it up, and boom! Creamy, healthier salad dressing.

So there you have it, that’s what we eat in a typical day…and may or may not have had a few Newman’s Own Organic Sour Cherry Licorice too!  Love those things!!

Foil Packet Chicken Breast Recipe

1. Take a clean, trimmed chicken breast and season it up with whatever your heart desires.

2. Pan sear the chicken breast for about 2 minutes on each side in a hot pan coated with non-stick cooking spray.  This will add some color and flavor to the chicken, but it won’t be fully cooked.

3. Then transfer the chicken breast to a foil-lined pan, drizzle lightly with olive oil, and fold the foil into a little pouch…not too tight.

4. Bake it for 20 minutes at 350 degrees.  After 20 minutes I cut a slit in the thickest part of the breast just to make sure it’s done, but then I leave it wrapped up to sit for at least 10 minutes.  Viola! Juicy chicken every time!!

Do you have dietary needs that your family and/or spouse don’t have?  Do you cook different meals?
What are your workout plans for today?  I have 6 miles to conquer today after work!
2 thoughts on “What WE Ate Wednesday #1 – Inaugural Edition

  1. Pingback: What We Ate Wednesday #3 | Steph Stays Slim

  2. Pingback: What We Ate Wednesday #2 – PB2 Thief | Steph Stays Slim

What Say You?!

