Enlightened Green Shake and Vacay Recovery

I like to start my mornings with a protein shake…and a few months ago I got on the Green Shake/Smoothie kick!  Believe me, if I could eat bagels with cream cheese everyday, I would!  But I can’t, so here’s the recipe to my Enlightened Green Shake.  My classic shake on the recipe’s tab has more calories, but I found a way to make it just as nutritious and filling while saving a few calories.  The main reason I wanted to toy with the recipe was because I calculated the nutritional stats and realized the the classic version has a lot more sugar than I wanted.  So give this one a try, you’ll love it!

Enlightened Green Shake

Enlightened Green Shake

Ingredients: Layered in the blender or cup/Bullet type blender in this order

  1. 8-10 ounces of water
  2. 2 Tbl PB2 Peanut Butter Powder
  3. 1 Scoop of Chocolate Protein Powder (100 calories)
  4. 1 Big Handful of Fresh Spinach (about 1 1/2 to 2 cups worth)
  5. 1 Small Banana or 1/2 of a large banana

Blend all the ingredients until they’re completely blended, then add about 3 ice cubes and finish blending until it’s smooth.

Stats: 249 Calories, 37g Carbs, 4g Fat, 23g Protein, 11g Sugar
Original Classic Green Shake Stats: 300 Calories, 30g Carbs, 10g Fat, 25g Protein, and 18g Sugar
*Notice the difference in Fat and Sugar*

So I don’t know about you, but whenever I get back from being out of town, I usually feel like I need to jumpstart my nutrition because of the eating and lack of working out I’ve done.  It’s not always the worst food choices, but it’s def more indulgent that what I normally eat at home.  So first thing this morning I headed out to my grocery stops to get my fresh fruits and veggies for the week.  It always makes me laugh whenever I get back from the grocery store because out fridge os packed!  Once Friday comes around it’s usually on the empty side though.  That’s what happens when you buy a lot of fresh foods right?  It takes up a lot of room but gets gobbled up within the week.

IMG_1272

I got a few other errands done and unpacked all our stuff, and once it was time to get my workout in, I was stoked! I got some of my new workout clothes and new shoes on and headed out.  I decided to do a few miles and then head to the gym to finish up with some weights and dreaded abs!

I did a bunch of cooking this evening too, can’t wait to share my recipe for Caldo de Verduras (Mexican style veggie soup).

Do you have any go-to smoothie recipe’s? You have mine 🙂
What are some ways that you jumpstart your health and nutrition when you’ve dropped off for a bit? Run, run, run! And eat healthy of course.
Love or hate soup season??  I love soups!  But I’m picky 😦  I’ll share my recipe’s in the next few weeks)
14 thoughts on “Enlightened Green Shake and Vacay Recovery

  1. Pingback: Shake it Baby! | Steph Stays Slim

  2. Pingback: Post-Super Bowl Meal Planning Monday | Steph Stays Slim

  3. Pingback: WIAW and My Plan for the Month | Steph Stays Slim

  4. Hey there, where do you buy the Jillian Whey Protein? I’m having trouble finding it and I’m starting to wonder if it is being discontinued. Thanks girl!

    • Hmmm….I usually buy mine at Sams Club or Walmart. I just recently ran out but haven’t looked for it because I usually do smoothies when I’m working (and I’m still on my holiday vacay). Hope it’s not discontinued! I have another one I like too, but I need to look for the name and make sure it works well with the spinach and banana.

      • Online it says out of stock at Walmart and there isn’t any in our local Walmart stores 😦 Still searching for a good powder I like…hmmm

  5. Pingback: Baby, It’s Cold Outside…and Keeping to the Plan | Steph Stays Slim

  6. I have two go to smoothie recipes, both similar to yours 🙂 I feel the best when I can get in a kickboxing workout, 2-3 days of jogging and a couple days of circuit training in a week. I also notice a difference when I get at least 12 cups of water in a day and six hours of sleep a night (rarely seems to happen these days). I never used to be a soup fan, but a couple years ago I started making a super yummy tomato soup and this year I started doing a yummy chicken vegetable soup 🙂

  7. Pingback: Surviving the Holiday Buldge | Steph Stays Slim

  8. Pingback: What We Ate Wednesday #2 – PB2 Thief | Steph Stays Slim

What Say You?!

