Sunday (Family) Funday!

We took a road trip to the North Pole!!

IMG_1393

Well, more like we drove 15 minutes to my parent’s house, but it feels like you’ve entered a winter wonderland this time of year.

IMG_1392

I admired the massive wreath my mom hung this year…I even took a close-up shot to prove it’s giganticness!

The Christmas fun continued when we went inside.  Ever wanted to make a whimsical winter wonderland of your own?  Well check out this year’s decorations.  My mom went with a fun, topsy turvy take on her decor.

IMG_1391

These are small artificial (duh!) trees she found at Target? TJ Maxx? Michaels? I don’t remember….and placed them on varying levels to create a cascading tree look.  She also made the ornament decorations on each tree by using a roll of wide, wire-edged ribbon and attaching ornaments to the bow.  There are also some fun toppers on each tree that my crafty momma found and fixed up.  I love this idea for an untraditional take on a Christmas tree…it’s fun, colorful, and easy to put up and take down after Christmas.

After some decoration admiration, we chatted, ate, watched football, and relaxed!

IMG_1394Lunch: half a veggie torta (Mexican sandwich) with some ceviche on the side.  The torta had beans, queso fresco, avocado, pickled jalapeños, tomato, and lettuce.  Yum!  The ceviche is basically shrimp marinated in lemon to cook with tomatoes, onion, and cilantro..sounds weird but it’s amazing.  I’m going to try to make it pretty soon.  My fam makes it, but I’ve never given it a try.

Besides going to my mom and dad’s house because I love them!  My hubby and I also wanted to see my sister because she’ll be in Paris for Christmas!! I Know, so cool!  She leaves on Thursday after her last final and doesn’t get back until right before New Year’s.

IMG_1395

I love days like today!  Now I need to get ready for the week-meal and workout planning coming up for tomorrow.  Have a great one everyone!

What does a typical Sunday look like for you? Usually involves relaxing, family, football, and good food.
Do you decorate for the Holidays?  Traditional or untraditional?  Yes, but we’re skipping it this year because we moved and have stuff stored 😦
Ever been to Paris? NO! And yes, I’m jealous!!  As long as I get a (or couple) Starbucks mugs from Paris, I’ll get over it!  *hint hint Sister*

What Say You?!

