Steph’s Skinny Deviled Eggs

I took these to the Ornament Exchange Party at my Momma’s house last night and wanted to share with you a tasty and healthy alternative to the traditional cocktail party appetizer, deviled eggs.  It’s always good to have at least a couple of healthy choices at a gathering.

IMG_1553

Serving Size: 2 halves (I full egg) 45 Calories, 2 grams fat, 7 grams protein 

I’m making a small batch this time, but you can always adjust the recipe to accommodate more eggs…I’m only making 6 (12halves).

I also make these in 2 stages, the night before and right before the party.  I like to prep them ahead of time so that they are pretty much done by the time I actually need them.

Stage 1: The night before the party I get the eggs boiled (sometimes I buy them already hardboiled), scoop them out and make the filling and store in a zip lock baggie..

Stage 2: The day of the party I just take the hollowed egg whites, pipe in the filling, place them on a pretty tray (or ugly one, your call) and they’re ready to go!!

Ingredients:

IMG_1554

Process:

1. Cut the eggs in half and carefully scoop out the yolk.  Only reserve the yolk of 3 eggs – the other yolks you can put to the side.

2. In a bowl, combine the 3 yolks, 3 Tbl. Nonfat Plain Greek Yogurt, Celery Salt, and Pepper – you can add more seasonings and spice to taste.

3. Place mixture in a ziplock baggie, cut a small corner, and use as a piping bag to fill in hollowed egg whites – note: do not overfill the egg because there is just enough to make all 12 halves (remember- these are the skinny version).

4. Sprinkle with a dash of paprika (optional), and you’re all set!

IMG_1559

Ta Da!

IMG_1555

One thought on “Steph’s Skinny Deviled Eggs

What Say You?!

