Citrus Shrimp and Avocado Salad

Sweaty Stats: Yesterday I ran 4 miles with my buddy that I haven’t seen in a couple of weeks.  It was great catching up and chatting about what we’ve been up to…she just got back from Hawaii so she def won the story telling contest during our run.  She had to rush off to do more fabulous things, and since I still have another week off from work and nothing to do, I finished up with some ab work in my loving room while watching Kathy Lee and Hoda on the Today Show (I LOVE them).

As promised, I began my 5 days-5 different salads challenge. I started this because I came to the sad conclusion that I was in a salad rut and kept having the same one over, and over, and over again.  The great thing about salads is that you can throw pretty much anything on a bed of lettuce and call it a day.  Todays Citrus Shrimp and Avocado Salad was delish and actually more filling than I expected.  I meant it as a side salad with some soup, but couldn’t finish the soup because I was stuffed!

Citrus Shrimp and Avocado salad

Ingredients:

Cooked Shrimp (as much as you want in your salad – I had about 8 on hand)

1/2 small avocado

small piece of onion cut into thin slivers

Dressing/Marinade- 1 Tbls. honey, juice from 1/2 a lime, dash of salt and pepper, a few sprigs of chopped cilantro

Citrus Shrimp and Avocado Salad

The cilantro can be chopped much finer so the taste is more subtle,
but I was in a rush and like the taste of bigger cilantro pieces.

Put it all together:

Add Shrimp, avocado, and onion to a small bowl and add the dressing mixture.  Cover and let it sit in the refrigerator for at least 10 minutes in a so that all the flavors infuse.  Can also be left overnight, the lime will keep the avocado from turning brown.

Serve over a bed of spring mix and enjoy!

citrus shrimp and avocado salad

Variations- I added roasted chickies to my salad, but chopped mushrooms and some kind of cheese would also be good with this salad.  I didn’t add cheese because I’m weird about cheese on shrimp salads (don’t care for it too much) and I’m having pizza for dinner so I didn’t want a cheesy overload.

Just a lil sneak peak of another recipe I’m working on:

Cauliflower Crust Pizza

Cauliflower Crust Pizza – pretty amazing but needs a few more tweaks

Do you have any challenges that you’re taking on right now? Salad challenge – going good so far!
Ever had cauliflower crust pizza?  Any tips?
Any other good cauliflower recipes?  I’m not a cauliflower fan, but I’m experimenting with it – we’ll see what else I come up with

7 thoughts on “Citrus Shrimp and Avocado Salad

What Say You?!

