Are You Juicing?

Sweaty Stats: Yesterday I ran to the good ‘ol convention center stairs and got in an early morning run and stairs session.  Total workout took about 45 minutes – 2 miles (1 there and 1 back), 6 sets of stairs, and 3 sets of abs.  I’m pretty sure I’ll have “The Situations” abs by the time summer comes.  Or not. All I know is that I am so sore from my gym workout on Tuesday!  Guess I should hit the gym more than once every 3 months 🙂

The Situation

source

To keep everyone on track with 2013 resolutions/goals/whatever you want to call them, I have some amazing companies that have partnered up with me to review some of their best products.  I started sampling some of them back in December, but I kept that little secret to myself until now because I wanted the holiday hustle and bustle to be long gone.

Today’s feature motivator for you is Chef V’s

chef V

I’ve never tried any green juices (bottled or homemade) because , honestly, they freaked me out.  So green and dense looking…I couldn’t imagine choking it down.  So when Chef V graciously offered to send me out a week of her green drink, I was super excited…and a bit nervous that I wouldn’t be able to stomach it.

Why even try this in the first place?  Aside from just wanting to get more nutrients in your body, the website also claims to:

  • Burn Fat
  • Gain Energy
  • Sleep Better
  • Think Clearer
  • Relieve Stress
  • Preventative Care

The 1 week supply showed up right on my doorstep as promised in 2 half gallon plastic containers.  Just as I expected…it’s was really green!  I quickly looked over the instructional page that came along with it, and gave it a try.

green drink

Instructions:  SHAKE WELL (this is probably a no brainer to people who regularly make their own juices – but I was glad it specified to do this!), and drink 8 ounces first thing in the morning on an empty stomach.  Then have 4-8 ounces before your next 2 meals. Continue this for 7 days.

The Taste:  Amazing!  I was so impressed with how delicious it actually was.  It wasn’t thick at all and tasted just like the consistency of an other juice you would buy at the store.  I wasn’t gulping it down to mask the taste at all!  I found it much more refreshing when served with ice and began looking forward to it before my lunch and dinner.  I also noticed that because I was drinking this juice before meals, I got full faster…leading me to eat less and be satisfied longer.  My co-workers didn’t believe me and were blown away when they tasted it!  Overall, I loved the taste – the alone would be enough for me to make this a regular part of my nutrition.

The Benefits:  I completed the green drink for the entire week and noticed that my body felt really good – and by ‘my body’ I really mean my stomach.  Without getting into too many details, I have always struggled with stomach and digestion issues; this is why I gave up meat years ago.  I noticed almost immediately that the green drink “kept things going” if you know what I mean 😉 but didn’t give me stomach aches or any of the side effects that most pills and drinks do.  It was really eye opening for me and made me rethink my take on juicing and intake of fruits and veggies.   I didn’t feel much of a difference in my energy or sleeping patterns – but I already sleep well and exercise regularly.  If I had continued the green drink on a regular basis, I may have a different take this.

I was also impressed with how transparent Chef V is with her ingredient list…it’s all right there for you to see.  No secrets, no gimmicks, just available for anyone to see what goes into the juicing process.  The only sweetener is apple – so syrups, sugars, artificial flavorings, or any gross additives.

The Bottom Line: If you live in the San Diego area, it’s an absolute must try!  She is willing to offer a 1 week free supply of the green drink so you can see just how amazing it is.  It’s also very affordable (prices are listed in the website here) and is actually cheaper than the bottled juices and wheatgrass shots – it only comes out to 25 cents an ounce! Try getting that at Jamba Juice!

If you don’t live in San Diego and/or can’t afford to fit this into your budget, then take a look at the benefits and ingredient list she offers and really think about how juicing can fit into your healthy lifestyle.  Chances are once you give it a try, you’ll be hooked!  I know I am – I asked for a juicer for Christmas, but didn’t get it…wonk wonk.  Something about me being picky.  Whatever.

Have you had the green juices that are sold in the store/health food markets?
Are you into juicing at home?  What’s you’re favorite?
Does juicing sound like something you’d like to try to continue your healthy living and fitness goals?
 
No compensation was given for this product review other than the complimentary 1 week supply of Chef V’s Organic Green Drink.  All opinions expressed are my own. 
 
4 thoughts on “Are You Juicing?

  1. I haven’t tried juicing before but so many of my friends love it, swear by it, and encourage me to do it also. I don’t think I could totally do the juice fast thing but definitely try it like you did throughout the day along with your normal meals. I’m going to give it a try…I don’t live near San Diego but will check out Chef V’s website for sure. Thanks!

  2. I tried doing a juice fast but it was sooo hard, I like the idea of adding it to your regular food though. Sometimes I buy “fresh” juice from the produce department and there is one called Green Machine, somehow I managed to convince my husband to taste it and now he loves it. Which is so funny because the only green thing he will eat is pickles! Also he recently watched the Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead documentary so he wants to get a juicer now.

    • I’ve been wanting to watch that documentary…I need to make a habit of getting it! I’m going to start with incorporating some of the juice sold at the local healthy food store deli and maybe venture off into making my own in the future…we’ll see 🙂

  3. I enjoy juicing, but I go in and out of phases with it…it takes a lot of produce to juice and it can be messy. I love doing carrot, spinach, and apple and then mixing in new things with that…it makes a perfect base and is always really yummy. I also buy Naked Juice from time to time…great start to the day or a pick me up in the afternoon when I am dragging to finish my work day 🙂

What Say You?!

