Another Day, Another Salad…Fish Taco Salad

Sweaty Stats: Yesterday I took a rest day – it’ll probably be my only rest day of the week, so I decided to take advantage of it and lounge all morning organize my closet, boo!

Glad it’s Friday!! Because Thursday was pretty uneventful for me…ran some boring errands and went to the grocery store.  Well, you all know I LOVE going to the grocery store, so that was actually a lil treat 🙂  I was counting down the minutes to dinner time, because I knew it was gonna be a good one!  I present to you the:

Fish Taco Salad

fish taco salad

This is truly one of my favorite salads (I feel like I say that a lot, hmmm…)!  It gives you that fish taco taste without the added fat carbs and fat from tortillas and deep fried fish.  There’s no dressing in this salad, the toppings take care of that.  If you feel like you need something more on it, some additional lime juice should do the trick!

Ingredients:

  • About 3 Cups of Romaine lettuce (I mix mine with spinach for some added nutrients)
  • 1 large or 2 small Tilapia fillets (any other white, flaky fish will work too)
  • 1/2 Cup Creamy Cabbage Mix (see below)
  • 1/4 Cup Pico de Gallo (see below)
  • 1/2 Avocado

Process:  Pretty basic, but I’ll still go through it 🙂

  • Pan fry the Tilapia in a pan sprayed with non-stick cooking spray.  Season the tilapia with salt, pepper, and garlic powder (I did lemon pepper seasoning this time).  Cook for about 3-4 minutes per side.  
  • Layer the ingredients in a large bowl or plate – Lettuce, Tilapia, Creamy Cabbage, Pico de Gallo, Avocado…enjoy!

Creamy Cabbage: combine all the ingredients in a bowl

  • 1/2 Cup of shredded cabbage (I used bagged cole slaw mix)
  • 2-3 Tbl. Salsa
  • 2 Tbl. nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • Juice from 1/2 lime
  • Dash of salt and pepper
  • Combine all the ingredients

creamy cabbage

Pico de Gallo: chop and combine all the ingredients in a bowl

  • 1 small Roma tomato
  • small piece of purple onion (I prefer purple because the taste and smell isn’t as strong as the white onion)
  • Several sprigs of cilantro

pico de gallo

Like all other salads, measurements are approximate – I take more of a throw all the ingredients together approach when making my salads, but hopefully it gives you a better idea of the amounts needed.  The creamy cabbage and pico de gallo can be made in larger quantities and saved in the refrigerator to make prepping future salads and other dishes (those are very versatile toppings) for up to a week. There ya go!

So what do you think?  Does this seem like a salad you would try?
Have you been eating more salads lately too?
2 thoughts on “Another Day, Another Salad…Fish Taco Salad

  1. I am so going to try this one! Another one of my “resolutions” this year is to incorporate more fish into my diet! Thanks for sharing!

What Say You?!

