New Recipe: Creamy Parmesan Chicken

Sweaty Stats: Yesterday I over slept and missed the yoga class I planned on going to at the Lululemon store right down the street from my house.  They have free yoga every Saturday and I missed it! Boo! I was feeling lazy and wanted to skip my workout all together, but when my hubby went to the gym I knew I should get in a lil sweaty time too.  I ended up getting in an ‘at-home’ Pilates workout.  I have the Windsor Pilates DVD, and I love it!  It’s pretty short (about half an hour), but it leaves you good and sore in all the right places.

It’s a good thing I worked out because there were a ton on goodies at my uncle’s house Saturday evening, and I tasted all of them! Yup!  Kahlua cheesecake, carrot cake, brownies, and probably a few more things I can’t even remember!  Truth is, I’m probably healthy 80% of the time, but I’m not going to turn down some treats and my favorite foods.  It’s all about moderation, and today was an indulge day!  It was a special celebration and a perfect occasion to splurge 🙂

Since most of you are probably getting ready for the week…grocery shopping, meal planning, etc. I wanted to share a recipe I made last week that my husband loved!  It’s healthy, delicious, and a great way to add even more protein to a typical chicken dinner.

Creamy Parmesan Chicken

creamy parmesan chicken

Ingredients: (serves 1)

  • 1 boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • scant 1/4 Cup non-fat plain greek yogurt
  • 2 – 3 Tbl. grated parmesan cheese (per taste preference)
  • 1 tsp. each – salt, pepper, garlic powder, dried oregano

Process:

  • Pre-heat the oven (I cooked mine in a toaster oven on the ‘bake’ mode) to 350 degrees Fahrenheit.
  • In a small bowl, combine the yogurt, cheese, and seasonings.
  • Place the chicken in a small baking dish that has been sprayed with non-stick cooking spray
  • Spread the yogurt mixture over the raw chicken
  • Bake uncovered for 25 minutes.
  • Let sit for 5 minutes and enjoy!

creamy parmesan chicken

Tips:

  • The greek yogurt add 6 additional grams of protein, making this chicken breast about 36-38 grams of protein.  Awesome!
  • I used the cheap grated parmesan cheese that comes in a can – as opposed to the better quality cheese.  Why?  because the finer it’s grated, the better the flavors mix and take away from the tartness of the yogurt.
  • You can add any seasonings and spices to the yogurt mixture that you prefer.  A spicy cayenne or chili power yogurt mixture would be good too!
Do you meal plan and shop for the week on Sundays?  I try, but sometimes I get to it on Monday, depending on how busy my Sunday was.
Ever cook with Greek Yogurt?  I’m getting into it more, but I was initially weirded out by heating up yogurt.  I’m over it now!
How often do you cook chicken for your family? My husband eats chicken just about everyday (by choice) so I’m always trying to mix it up for him. 
6 thoughts on “New Recipe: Creamy Parmesan Chicken

  1. Pingback: Post-Super Bowl Meal Planning Monday | Steph Stays Slim

  2. Pingback: End of the Month Inventory – January | Steph Stays Slim

  3. I must admit I never use greek yogurt…I really don’t like any kind of yogurt. This recipe sounds yummy and easy so maybe I will try it out 🙂 I always do menu planning and make my grocery list over Thursday and Friday every week and we shop by Sunday morning so we can food prep Sunday afternoon/evening. Last night I did an egg bake for easy to go breakfasts during the week and also a super veggie packed quinoa pasta salad for the week. We have been buying an already cooked whole chicken each week lately so I also pulled all the meat off of it so it is another easy snack option full of protein. Finally, we prepped the pot roast for the crock pot today…threw in carrots and sweet potatoes, too, and I can’t wait to get home and smell the yumminess! Have a great week!

    • Wow, that’s a lot of planning, good for you! It all depends how busy I am and whether or not I have time to get everything organized Sunday. Let me know what you think of the chicken 🙂

      • I fit my planning in on my lunch breaks at work, which is why I start on Thursday 🙂 Gotta fit things in during every free minute or it won’t happen…this whole working mom thing is really challenging…haha. I wish I could have just half the social life you do…hehe. Instead I enjoy reading about it!!

  4. YUM! Topping chicken with greek yogurt and cheese is something I’ve never even though of before, but I LOVE the idea! I was totally weirded out by heating up greek yogurt at first as well, but it is such a great substitution for cream/sour cream/milk.

What Say You?!

