WIAW With a Couple of New Recipes

Sweaty Stats: Yesterday I ran 5 miles with my running buddy and then did some core work in my living room.  I actually felt really good and could’ve gone longer…I’m shooting for 6-7 on Thursday.  It’ll be a solo run so hopefully I’ll still feel good – there’s nothing like running with a friend to distract you!

OK, I have a lot going on with today’s “What I Ate Wednesday” so let’s just jump right into it.  In case your new to this WWIA phenomena, it’s a weekly occurrence started at Peas and Crayons that took over the blogging world…check it out!

Breakfast

Skinny Protein Pancakes

Skinny Green Protein Pancakes: (adapted from the Biggest Loser Pancakes)

  • 2 egg whites
  • 1/3 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/3 steel cut oats (rolled oats would work too)
  • Dash each of cinnamon, vanilla, and brown sugar (optional)
  • Small handful organic baby spinach
  • Optional toppings – strawberries and peanut butter (or whatever you want)
  • (Makes 1 serving)
  1. Blend all ingredients – I used a bullet type blender
  2. Pour batter in a pan over medium heat (Use nonstick cooking spray!) and cook for about 3 minutes on each side.  The consistency is not as easy to handle as regular pancakes so make sure they set well before flipping.
  3. TIP- I was lazy and used a small pan, that’s why they look like 2 green boobs instead of individual pancakes, but make sure you use a pan or griddle with enough surface area so that you can flip them and they’re not touching.  You’ll thank me later 🙂

These pancakes are absolutely amazing, filling, and nutrient dense!  I’ll update the recipe page soon and make sure to include the calories.

Lunch

salad

I forgot to take a picture when it still looked pretty – basically this salad had: romaine, spinach, mini sweet peppers, 1 hard boiled egg, and garbanzo beans.  I used my Greek Cesar dressing (equal parts of low cal Cesar salad dressing and plain nonfat Greek Yogurt) along with an individual sized piece of cheddar cheese.

Snack

cookie

Chocolate chip cookie at a work meeting – pretty much, I haven’t met a chocolate chip cookie I won’t try.  Don’t let the half fool you, I ate the whole thing!

Post-Workout

Horizon organic chocolate milk

Dinner

riced cauliflower and shrimp

I don’t have a fans name for this…I’ll think of one but this was so delicious!! Riced cauliflower with shrimp and spinach. (This recipe makes 1 serving – adjust as needed)

Cauliflower Saute 

  • 1 Cup riced cauliflower (throw cauliflower in a blender or food processor and pulse until it reaches the consistency of rice)
  • Fresh minced garlic – to taste
  • 1 Tbl olive oil
  • Veggies – I used diced sweet mini pepper and mushrooms
  • Seasonings of your choice – I used italian seasoning, garlic salt, and pepper
  1. Heat oil in a pan over medium heat
  2. Throw all the ingredients into the pan (except the goat cheese) and sauté for about 5-6 minutes or until the cauliflower is soft.
  3. Toss in the goat cheese in small chunks and let the heat melt the cheese.  Set aside.

cauliflower saute

Shrimp Saute

  • 1/3 lb. of raw shrimp – deveined and shelled (or you can do that at home)
  • 1/2 lemon
  • 1 Tbl. margarine
  • 1 Tbl. olive oil
  • Dash of dried oregano and salt
  1. Heat oil in a pan over medium heat
  2. Toss in the shrimp and seasonings.  Sauté for about 4-5 minutes or until shrimp is fully cooked.
  3. Turn heat off, set aside and squeeze the juice form 1/2 lemon over the shrimp.  Let sit for a minute or 2 before plating up.

The Final Touch:

  • Place cauliflower saute on a plate
  • Layer with fresh baby spinach
  • Top with shrimp
  • ENJOY!

the perfect bite

Late Night Snack

cereal in a mug

I finished up the night with a touch of cereal in a mug.  Has anyone had this cereal?  It’s actually really good!

Have you tried any fun recipes lately?
Are you a fan of spinach, or shy away from it?  I throw it in everything!
Are you a cookie monster too?

7 thoughts on “WIAW With a Couple of New Recipes

  1. Pingback: Shake it Baby! | Steph Stays Slim

  2. Pingback: Vacay Recap and Recovery Mode | Steph Stays Slim

  3. Pingback: Meal Planning Monday & Some Weekend Fun | Steph Stays Slim

  4. Pingback: End of the Month Inventory – January | Steph Stays Slim

What Say You?!

