End of the Month Inventory – January

Sweaty Stats: Yesterday I did nothing!  Took a rest day to relax.  I  love days like that…middle of the week break from everything. 

I actually took  my rest day and made it a Showtime marathon day and watched TV all evening with the husband.  We caught up on the last few episodes of ‘House of Lies.’  Have you seen this show?  It’s hilarious, sexy, and inappropriate…right up my alley!

house of lies

To round out our night of doing absolutely no activity and laying around watching TV, I figured pizza was a perfect choice for dinner.  Lately I’ve been trying to take my ‘fat girl’ junk food cravings and turn them into something much healthier and less guilty.  Best part about our pizza dinner (aside from being a healthier alternative to store bought pizza) was that I already had all the ingredients on hand.  Score!

Enter last night’s dinner: Whole Wheat Pita Pizzas (Sorry about the bad pic…BBQ chix on the left looks better than my veggie pesto on the right because I was already laying on the sofa watching TV when I remembered to take the pic of mine…it happens 🙂 )

pita pizza

Pic was also on Instagram – @stephstaysslim

Hubby’s PizzaBBQ Chicken:  Chopped chicken breast mixed with BBQ sauce (right outta the bottle) and fresh baby spinach.   I just plopped the chicken mixture on 2 whole wheat pitas and topped it off with some mild cheddar cheese. 

My Pizza- Veggie Pesto: I spread pre-made pesto on the whole wheat pita and topped it with baby spinach, chopped mini sweet peppers and mushroooms, and added a bit of goat cheese and mild cheddar cheese. 

  • I baked the pita pizzas at 400 degrees (F) for about 6 minutes, then I turned up the heat up to 425 for another 2-3 minutes.  This made the crust crunchy on the edges and browned the cheese a bit. 

I have a few foods that I love and try to recreate at home so that it’s healthier than going out and buying it.  Such as:

  • Pizza (duh)- cauliflower crust and pita crust
  • Tacos- No oil, cactus tortillas (low calorie and low carb), lean protein, plain greek yogurt instead of sour cream
  • Carne Asada Fries (this is a southern California thing…Google them, they’re amazing)- I use soyrizo since I don’t eat meat and low fat cheese, greek yogurt, etc. 
  • Fried Rice- I use brown rice instead of white, and egg whites instead of whole eggs. 
  • Baked Sweet Potato Fries- No brainer, they’re baked instead of fried

That’s all I can think up now.  Yes, it’s more time consuming to make it than to go out and buy it, and I’m not advocating to eat these “healthy alternatives” daily because they are still higher fat and calories than a normal sensible dinner.  All I’m saying is if you’re going to induldge in some of your favorite high calorie foods, try to make them at home and feel better knowing excatly what went into the meal!

So on to my End of the Month Inventory for January:

In an effort to keep my goals in mind, at the end of each month I’ll be reflecting on how true I am sticking to my resolutions.  This will give me a time to focus on what I’ve done well, work on areas that are lacking, and re-evaluate the goals that I set and see if they are even goals I want to keep.  Here’s the post where I detailed my resolutions for the year.

2013 resolutions

  1. 🙂 Most of the time I have made better choices.  This month’s new recipes: Green Protein Pancakes, Cauliflower Crust Pizza (not posted because I’m still perfecting it), Creamy Parmesean Chicken, Crab and Shrimp Deviled Eggs.
  2. 😦 Huge Fail.  I’ll try again for February.
  3. 😦 Another Fail.  Haven’t been getting in my Yoga or Pilates regularly. 
  4. 🙂 😦 That’s in the middle.  Some exciting new partnerships are coming up, but I’m still trying to grow readership.  Tell your friends about me! Ha!
  5. 🙂 🙂 🙂 This has been a huge success for me so far.  I have eliminated paper plates from our household, I use reusable shopping bags 99% of the time (yes, sometimes I still forget), I also have made a big effort to take my own coffee cup to Starbucks and other cafes.  I’m changing the world people.
  6. 😦 Nope, nothing new this month, boo! Let’s see what opportunities for new things February brings me. 
What are some of your favorite ‘junk foods’ that you have recreated at home to make them healthier?
How are your resolutions going so far?
What type of “new things” should I try?  I need help!
What Say You?!

