So Many Races…Where to Begin?!

Sweaty Stats:  Yesterday was another dark day in the sweaty stats department…don’t judge me!  I had a late day at work and pretty much already decided that I wouldn’t be working out.  So what should I do if I know I’ll get out of work late several days in one week?  Plan better.  Either get up early, or make a point to get in a late gym session.  Sucks, but you gotta do what you gotta do. 

I’ve been thinking about races so much lately…almost as much as I think about Ryan Gosling my husband.  I really had my sights set on doing the San Diego half marathon, but it’s coming up so soon and I’m not sure I’m ready for it.  I have a little over a month to get ready, so we’ll see.  It usually doesn’t sell out so I should be able to register right before the event if I go for it.

sd half marathon

source

Then my friend texted me about joining her team for a Ragnar Relay starting in Huntington Beach and ending in the harbor area of Downtown San Diego…footsteps from my house!  If your not familiar with the Ragnar series, look it up – it’s awesome in a crazy way!  Basically, you run on a team of 12 for 2 days and 1 night all the way through.  2 vans transport you to the pick up – drop off spots, etc.  You run multiple legs of the race (200 miles total) but each leg is only between 3 and 8 miles.  I’m really excited about it, but I’m afraid it’ll cost and arm and a leg! Between race registration,  renting the vans, gas, getting volunteers, etc…it may be quite pricy.  This race is in April 🙂   ragnar

source

And finally there’s my beloved Rock and Roll San Diego race!  This one is in June and actully ends in Downtown San Diego this year, awesome!  If you’ve ever run races before, you know logistics can sometimes be a nightmare; parking, bussing, the wait time, etc.  This can make the whole race experience awful!  So when I see races that end walking distance from my house, it’s definitely an incentive!  Aside from this being such a fun race that’s close to home, I like running it because of my running buddy.  Her sister was diagnosed with Leukemia  few years ago and since the proceeds of this race go towards the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society – it’s a no brainer! 

Rock and Roll

source

So there’s my dilemma…3 races in 4 months – one of those being an over night race.  My body can handle it, but not sure if my checkbook can!  Maybe if I wouln’t have dragged out a month long birthday celebration I could swing it, but we’ll see what happens.  In the meantime, I’m training!  That’s the spirit right?!

Have you run any organized events before?
What’s your favorite distance?
Any planned races coming up?
5 thoughts on “So Many Races…Where to Begin?!

  1. Steph Ragnar is fun! I loved running in it. It’s different for sure. I blogged about it. I have a full yer planned. Even at this moment I’m in Pasedena getting ready for the RNR Pasedena half. Check out my blog.

  2. I say do them all and have fun! You will be ready for the first one so sign up now to motivate yourself more 🙂 I’m signed up for my first half marathon in June and I hope to do another one or two before the year is over and then back to 10k’s and less for me…hehe. Good luck and keep it up!!

  3. These sound fun! I’m totally trying to pick races based on how much they cost and how close they are to my house this year. I would love to do the Seattle Rock and Roll but its 4 hours away and something like $125 to enter! Maybe next year….

What Say You?!

