I’m a Runner? How Did That Happen?!

Sweaty Stats: As promised, I got out there and ran 8 miles Wednesday evening with my buddy Katherine.  We’re both in full Rock and Roll training mode even though we  feel like we’re slowing each other down…but secretly love that we’re both slow pokes, so it works out perfectly.

I haven’t raced since the America’s Finest City Half Marathon 2 years ago!!  I don’t know why I stopped training and signing up, but I just did.  Weird, I know.

Before I get ahead of myself, let’s take a trip down memory lane…The Carlsbad Half Marathon was the very first race I’d ever signed up and trained for.  I don’t know what got into me, but one day I woke up and decided that I was going to be a runner.  I trained for about 8 months because when I started running I could barely do 2 miles without dying!  I read just about every blog and magazine article I could get my hands on to try and figure out what this whole running thing was all about.  And honestly, I was terrified…people poop their pants, what?!

carlsbad marathon race bib

Fortunately I enjoyed the prospect of taking on a challenge I never imagined would ever become a reality for me.  I grew up playing sports and stayed pretty active throughout adulthood, but never in a million years did I think I would ever become a “runner.”

compression socks

The San Diego Rock and Roll  Half Marathon became one of my fav’s because my running buddy’s sister was recently diagnosed with Leukemia as an adult and the proceeds of this race go towards The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

Rock and Roll Half Marathon

Rock and Roll Half Marathon

We all showed our support and  wore “Cara’s Crew” shirts for the race!

So fast forward to now…I am training for the SD RnR Half again and it’s much harder!  I feel that 2 years ago I was able to breeze through the training with minimal pain and a much faster pace, but now I’m an achy slow poke, what gives?!

nike running

My husband turns 35 in August (I just turned 30 in January) and he’s running it with me as a milestone for himself…and has already stated that this will be his first and last time ever doing this!  As much as I’m struggling with the training this time around, I know that this is not my last race.  Does that make me a runner?  Or just crazy?

My Running HusbandAre you a runner?  

What struggles have you had in your journey as a runner, or just being active?
Does it deter you from moving forward, or give you more strength to keep on going? 
One thought on “I’m a Runner? How Did That Happen?!

  1. I so relate to this post and have had a very similar experience with becoming a runner myself 🙂 My first half is in 9 days and I know it won’t be my last. Running is such a stress reliever for me and I always feel great after a run, even if I feel like I’m dragging booty during the run. Yay for Julio doing a half!! What day is his birthday? Have a great holiday weekend you guys!!

What Say You?!

